Current Events

For my current events I chose to research ISIS. I looked up why they are doing this. I found out that there is no real reason for what they are doing, and that they just want the power. They’re leader is Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi. He is the one who leads the troops, and army forces. Previously, ISIS has been exchanging threats with the United States. ISIS started as an al Qaeda splinter group, now, they carry out public executions, and crucifixions. They use things such as social media, to promote what they are doing, and their religious beliefs. They control more than 34 000 square miles in Syria, and in Iraq. In 2015, it was believed that ISIS was holding about 3500 people as slaves, mostly women and children from the Yazidi community. I decided to research this topic, to find out more about what they are doing, and mostly, why they are doing it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *